Election results - Ward 1 - Stranraer and the Rhins

4 councillors have been elected in Ward 1 of Dumfries and Galloway Council to represent Stranraer and the Rhins.

Overall result

4 councillors elected:

  • Ben Dashper (Scottish National Party (SNP))
  • Andrew Giusti (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Chrissie Hill (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • Willie Scobie

Detailed results

The electorate was 11,398 and the number of ballot papers received was 4,726 giving a percentage turnout of 41.5%. There were 108 rejected ballot papers. The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected was 924.

The first preference votes received by each of the candidates and the stage at which any candidate was elected is:

Summary of election results
CandidateDescription (if any)First preference votesStage of election
Peter Richard BarlowScottish Green Party1200
Ben DashperScottish National Party (SNP)1,0741
Andrew GiustiScottish Conservative and Unionist1,5181
Chrissie HillScottish Conservative and Unionist3387
John McCutcheonScottish Labour Party4580
Willie Scobie-1,0511
Tommy Sloan-590


Page last updated: 10/05/2022
email icon print icon