Election results - Ward 9 - Nith

4 councillors have been elected in Ward 9 of Dumfries and Galloway Council to represent Nith.

Overall result

4 councillors elected:

  • John Campbell (Scottish National Party)
  • Malcolm Johnstone (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • John Martin (Scottish Labour Party)
  • Elaine Murray (Scottish Labour Party)

Detailed results

The percentage poll was 49.4%. There were 5,055 valid ballot papers and 77 rejected ballot papers.

The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected was 1,012.

The first preference votes received by each of the candidates and the stage at which any candidate was elected is:

CandidateDescription (if any)First preference votesStage of election
John CampbellScottish National Party (SNP)8588
Niall CowanIndependent1960
Andrew CrosbieIndependent1530
John DennisIndependent1260
Malcolm JohnstoneScottish Conservative and Unionist1,4811
John MartinScottish Labour Party42410
Elaine MurrayScottish Labour Party9612
Sandy RogersonScottish Green Party1210
David Robert SlaterIndependent2970
Alastair WittsScottish National Party (SNP)4380
Page last updated: 09/01/2019
email icon print icon