Election results - Ward 9 - Nith

4 councillors have been elected in Ward 9 of Dumfries and Galloway Council to represent Nith.

Overall result

4 councillors elected:

  • John Gillespie Campbell (Scottish National Party (SNP))
  • Malcolm Johnstone (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • David Robert Slater (Independent)
  • Keith Walters (Scottish Labour Party)

Detailed Results

The electorate was 10,573 and the number of ballot papers received was 5,079 giving a percentage turnout of 48.0%. There were 72 rejected ballot papers. The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected was 1,002.

The first preference votes received by each of the candidates and the stage at which any candidate was elected is:

Summary of election results
CandidateDescription (if any)First preference votesStage of election
John Gillespie CampbellScottish National Party (SNP)1,6701
Malcolm JohnstoneScottish Conservative and Unionist9045
Anne McLauchlanScottish Green Party2400
Alastair MuirScottish Conservative and Unionist5150
David Robert SlaterIndependent4887
Keith WaltersScottish Labour Party8353
Angie WhitelawScottish Labour Party3550


Page last updated: 10/05/2022
email icon print icon