Ward 8 - Lochar

Lochar has an electorate of 10,140 and the main towns and villages are Ae, Auldgirth, Collin, Dalswinton, Heathhall and Locharbriggs, Holywood, Kirkton and Torthorwald.

Your councillors

There are 4 councillors representing Lochar.

Some elected members hold councillor surgeries so you can speak to them about problems or issues.

Your ward officer

Your ward officer is there to support local communities, councillors and partners within the ward. They can help you or your community with:

  • community engagement - including running Ward Events and community meetings, supporting consultations and involvement
  • community development and empowerment - including assisting communities to prioritise what's important to them, making informed choices about community assets and volunteering with the council in their locality
  • community planning - coordinating and working with local partners and supporting Locality Hubs


Ward officer for Lochar
Ward officerContact details
Derek Hextall
Derek Hextall

Email derek.hextall@dumgal.gov.uk
Call 01387 260026 or 07834 567869

Local services

You can use our find my nearest tool to find out more about services in your area.

Page last updated: 07/03/2023
email icon print icon