Ward 2 - Mid Galloway and Wigtown West

Mid Galloway and Wigtown West has an electorate of 10,521 and the main towns and villages are Castle Kennedy, Creetown, Dunragit, Garlieston, Glenluce, Glentrool, Isle of Whithorn, Kirkcowan, Kirkinner and Braehead, New Luce, Newton Stewart and Minnigaff, Port William, Sorbie, Whauphill, The Royal Burgh of Whithorn and The Royal Burgh of Wigtown.

Your councillors

There are 4 councillors representing Mid Galloway and Wigtown West.

Some elected members hold councillor surgeries so you can speak to them about problems or issues.

Your ward officer

Your ward officer is there to support local communities, councillors and partners within the ward. They can help you or your community with:

  • community engagement - including running Ward Events and community meetings, supporting consultations and involvement
  • community development and empowerment - including assisting communities to prioritise what's important to them, making informed choices about community assets and volunteering with the council in their locality
  • community planning - coordinating and working with local partners and supporting Locality Hubs


Ward officer for Mid Galloway and Wigtown West
Ward officerContact details
Melinda Dolan

Email melinda.dolan@dumgal.gov.uk
Call 07712 666 903

Local services

You can use our find my nearest tool to find out more about services in your area.


Page last updated: 07/03/2023
email icon print icon