Coronavirus (COVID-19) -
Information and advice.

Dumfries and Galloway Divisional Licensing Boards

The Dumfries and Galloway Licensing Boards are the statutory licensing authority under the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 and the Gambling Act 2005.

There are four separate Divisional Licensing Boards for Dumfries and Galloway. The Boards meet to determine relevant applications and discuss related matters.

Licensing policies and principles

The Boards are under a duty to publish a number of local policies and guidance documents which inform decision-making. These documents are reviewed regularly.

Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board



Notice is hereby given that Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board on 4 December 2019 agreed a Supplementary Licensing Policy Statement under Section 6(2) of the Act the terms of which are published from Tuesday 17 December 2019.  This Supplementary Statement, which inserts the reasons for the Board's Policy Hours at new paragraphs 1.11.2 to 1.11.13 of the current Licensing Policy Statement 2018 -2023, comes into effect on Friday 20 December 2019.

The Licensing Policy Statement amended to incorporate the terms of the Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board's Supplementary Licensing Policy Statement can be downloaded using the link above.

Annual reports

The boards are required to publish an Annual Functions Report and Annual Financial Report within 3 months of the end of the relevant financial year. However, for reasons relating to Coronavirus and by virtue of the Boards' powers under the Coronavirus (Scotland) Act 2020, the annual finance and functions report for financial year 2020/2021, will be published no later than 31 December 2021:

Reports from previous years

Reports for the last financial year is also available to download:

Equality and Diversity

The Equality Act 2010 (Specific Duties) (Scotland) Regulations 2012 came into force in May 2012. The key legal requirements for public authorities (which includes the Licensing Boards) contained in these specific duties are to:

Licensing Officers

Annandale and Eskdale/Nithsdale



Board membership

Annandale and Eskdale Divisional Licensing Board (5 members)
Councillor Archie Dryburgh (Convener)
Councillor Ian Carruthers
Councillor Douglas Fairbairn
Councillor Henry McClelland
Councillor Stephen Thompson

Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board (6 members)
Councillor Ivor Hyslop (Convener)
Councillor Jim Dempster
Councillor Jeff Leaver
Councillor David McKie
Councillor Elaine Murray
Councillor Davie Stitt

Stewartry Divisional Licensing Board (5 members)
Councillor Iain Howie (Convener)
Councillor Dougie Campbell
Councillor Rob Davidson
Councillor Jane Maitland
Councillor John Young

Wigtown Divisional Licensing Board (5 members)
Councillor Jim McColm (Convener)
Councillor Katie Hagmann
Councillor David Inglis
Councillor Tommy Sloan
Councillor Ros Surtees

Board Dates


Page last updated: 20/10/2021
email icon print icon Bookmark and Share