## OFFICIAL

## NOTICE OF ELECTION OF COMMUNITY COUNCILLORS



Elections are to be held for the return of Community Councillors who will comprise the elected Community Councils as listed below for a period of 5 years from 8am on 4 October 2019 (the day after the date set for contested elections).

Nomination papers may be obtained from the Returning Officer (see Table 1 below) from the:

- Dumfries and Galloway Council website at <u>www.dumgal.gov.uk/communitycouncils</u>
- By emailing at <u>Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk</u>
- By calling on 030 33 33 3000

**Electoral Registration Numbers** are available from your appointed Returning Officer or by calling Dumfries and Galloway Council on 030 33 33 3000

Nomination papers, duly completed and signed, must be delivered to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday**, **3 September 2019**.

Candidates for election may withdraw their nomination but only if they withdraw their nomination in writing to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday**, **3 September 2019**.

Should the **MAXIMUM**<sup>1</sup> number of candidates validly nominated be more than the maximum permitted membership after the period for nominations has closed, a ballot box election will be held on **Thursday, 3 October 2019**. Those entitled to stand for election, or to propose a nomination, are those people aged 16 years or over, who live in the Community Council area and whose name appears on the current register of electors for that Community Council area as at the date of completion on the nomination form.

In the event of a ballot box election, voting at this election will be confined to those members of the electorate who attend the polling station in person. There will be no postal or proxy voting.

If the number of validly nominated candidates is equal to or more than the MINIMUM permitted membership, but does not exceed the maximum permitted membership, after the period for nominations has closed, then the said candidates will be declared to be duly elected unopposed and will assume office at 8am on 4 October 2019. Thereafter, they will have the option to fill any remaining vacancies through the casual vacancy election or co-option process.

Should the number of candidates validly nominated be below the **MINIMUM**<sup>2</sup> permitted membership, the Community Council shall not be established at that time. However, Dumfries and Galloway Council will be happy to work with the nominees and the wider community to take things forward in due course.

## Table 1 – Established Community Councils – Returning Officer(s) Information

The following Community Councils the Returning Officer will be **Kirsty Peden**, **C/o Ashwood House**, **Sun Street**, **Stranraer DG9 7JJ**, **Telephone 030 33 33 3000** 

Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>	Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>
Cairnryan	11 4		Old Luce	14	5
Cree Valley	17	6	Portpatrick	11	4
Garlieston	11	4	Port William and District	11	4
Isle of Whithorn	11	4	Sorbie	11	4
Kirkcolm	11	4	Stoneykirk	11	4
Kirkcowan	11	4	Stranraer, Ochtrelure and Belmont	17	6
Kirkmabreck	11	4	The Royal Burgh of Whithorn and District	11	4
New Luce	11	4			

Other Community Council Returning Officer(s) are as follows:

Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>	Returning Officer
		4	

Kirkmaiden	11	4	Wendi Cuffe, Low Eldrick, Ardwell, DG9 9NB Tel: 07809 363 289	
Lochans	11	4	Elizabeth Garrett, 24 Thorn Street, Lochans, DG9 9AU Tel: 01776 820 725	
Royal Burgh of Wigtown and District	14	5	Graeme McKie, c/o Ashwood House, Sun Street, Stranraer, DG9 7JJ Tel: 01776 888465 or Mobile: 07709 479676	

For those areas where the Community Council is currently **disestablished** (see Table 2 below), please contact the Community Planning and Engagement Unit on 030 33 33 3000 should there be interest in establishing a Community Council.

## Table 2 – Disestablished Community Councils – Returning Officers Information

The Returning Officer will be Kirsty Peden, C/o Ashwood House, Sun Street, Stranraer DG9 7JJ, Telephone 030 33 33 3000

Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>
Castle Kennedy	11	4
Leswalt	11	4