## NOTICE OF ELECTION OF COMMUNITY COUNCILLORS



Elections are to be held for the return of Community Councillors who will comprise the elected Community Councils as listed below for a period of 5 years from 8am on 4 October 2019 (the day after the date set for contested elections).

Nomination papers may be obtained from the Returning Officer (see Table 1 below) from the:

- Dumfries and Galloway Council website at www.dumgal.gov.uk/communitycouncils
- By emailing at Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
- By calling on 030 33 33 3000

**Electoral Registration Numbers** are available from your appointed Returning Officer or by calling Dumfries and Galloway Council on 030 33 33 3000.

Nomination papers, duly completed and signed, must be delivered to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday, 3 September 2019**.

Candidates for election may withdraw their nomination but only if they withdraw their nomination in writing to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday**, **3 September 2019**.

Should the **MAXIMUM**<sup>1</sup> number of candidates validly nominated be more than the maximum permitted membership after the period for nominations has closed, a ballot box election will be held on **Thursday, 3 October 2019**. Those entitled to stand for election, or to propose a nomination, are those people aged 16 years or over, who live in the Community Council area and whose name appears on the current register of electors for that Community Council area as at the date of completion on the nomination form.

In the event of a ballot box election, voting at this election will be confined to those members of the electorate who attend the polling station in person. There will be no postal or proxy voting.

If the number of validly nominated candidates is equal to or more than the MINIMUM permitted membership, but does not exceed the maximum permitted membership, after the period for nominations has closed, then the said candidates will be declared to be duly elected unopposed and will assume office at 8am on 4 October 2019. Thereafter, they will have the option to fill any remaining vacancies through the casual vacancy election or co-option process.

Should the number of candidates validly nominated be below the **MINIMUM**<sup>2</sup> permitted membership, the Community Council shall not be established at that time. However, Dumfries and Galloway Council will be happy to work with the nominees and the wider community to take things forward in due course.

## Table 1 – Established Community Councils – Returning Officer(s) Information

The following Community Councils the Returning Officer will be **Kirsty Peden, Municipal Chambers, Buccleuch Street, Dumfries, DG1 2AD, Telephone 030 33 33 3000** 

Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>	Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>	<b>Community Council</b>	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>
Ae	11	4	Kirkbean	11	4	Penpont	11	4
Auldgirth & District	11	4	Kirkmahoe	11	4	Southerness	11	4
Carronbridge	11	4	Kirkmichael	11	4	Tinwald Parish	11	4
Closeburn	11	4	Lochside & Woodlands	14	5	Torthorwald	14	5
Dunscore	11	4	Loreburn	17	6	The Royal Burgh of	14	5
Holywood & Newbridge	11	4	New Abbey	11	4	Sanquhar & District		
Kirkconnel & Kelloholm	14	5						

Other Community Council Returning Officer(s) are as follows:

Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>	Returning Officer	
Glencairn	11	4	Senga Thomson, 8 Dalmalallan View, Moniaive, DG3 4GZ, Tel: 07759 310043	
Heathhall	14	5	Derek Hextall, C/o Municipal Chambers, Buccleuch St, Dumfries, DG1 2AD, Tel: 030 33 33 3000	
Irongray	11	4	Hugh Norman, Hazelknowe, Newtonairds, Dumfries, DG2 0JL Tel: 01387 720467	
Keir	11	4	David Kirkpatrick, Auchenbainzie, Penpont, Thornhill, DG3 4ND, Tel: 01848 330 443	
Mouswald	11	4	Moira Forsyth, North Lodge, Mouswald Place, Mouswald, DG1 4JS Tel: 01387 830674 / 07842 268657	
Ruthwell & Clarencefield	11	4	Charlie Proctor, East Cottage, Knockhardy, Clarencefield, Dumfries, DG1 4NF Tel: 01387 870615, / 07716 785914	
Terregles	11	4	William M Hunter, Ardmore, Kirkland Bungalow, Terregles, Dumfries, DG2 9RY, Tel: 01387 721019	
Thornhill	14	5	Jim Dempster,68 High Street, Sanquhar DG4 6QZ Tel: 07825 633167	
Troqueer Landward	11	4	Thomas McAughtrie, Glenelg, 14 Rotchell Park, Dumfries, DG2 7RH, Tel: 01387 269494	
Tynron	11	4	John Cowderry, Thistledown, Tynron, Thornhill, DG3 4LE, Tel: 01848 200441 / 07710 713585	

For those areas where the Community Council is currently **disestablished** (see Table 2 below), please contact the Community Planning and Engagement Unit on 030 33 33 3000 should there be interest in establishing a Community Council.

## Table 2 - Disestablished Community Councils - Returning Officers Information

The Returning Officer will be Kirsty Peden, Municipal Chambers, Buccleuch Street, Dumfries, DG1 2AD, Telephone 030 33 33 3000

Community Council	Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup> Community Council		Maximum <sup>1</sup>	Minimum <sup>2</sup>
Beeswing	11	4	Lincluden	14	5
Caerlaverock	11	4	Locharbriggs	14	5
Corberry & Laurieknowe	14	5	Ryedale	14	5
Durisdeer	11	4	St Michael's	14	5
Georgetown	17	6	Summerville & Stakeford	14	5
Kingholm Quay	11	4	Wanlockhead	11	4