Coronavirus (COVID-19) -
Information and advice.

European Parliamentary Election results 2019

The European Parliament Election took place on Thursday 23 May 2019.

The Electoral Region of Scotland

I, Kenneth Lawrie, Regional Returning Officer for the Electoral Region of Scotland at the European Parliamentary Election held on 23 May 2019 give public notice of:

  • The total number of votes cast and the turnout
  • The total number of valid votes given to each registered party and individual candidate, and
  • The number of votes which such a party or candidate had at any stage when a seat was allocated, and the names of each candidate to whom a seat has been allocated.

The total number of votes cast was 1,576,485 a turnout of 39.9%

Name of registered partyNumber of valid votes
Change UK -The Independent Group30,004
Conservative and Unionist Party182,476
Labour Party146,724
Liberal Democrats218,285
Scottish Green Party129,603
Scottish National Party (SNP)594,553
The Brexit Party233,006
UK Independence Party (UKIP) 28,418
Edgar, Gordon6,128
Parke, Ken2,049

The number of ballot papers rejected was 5,239.

Seat No.
Name of party/candidate to whom seat allocatedNumber of votes on allocation of seatName of
successful candidate
1Scottish National Party
594,553Alyn Smith
2Scottish National Party
297,277Christian Allard
3The Brexit Party233,006Louis Stedman-Bryce
4Liberal Democrats218,285Sheila Ewan Ritchie
5Scottish National Party
198,184Aileen McLeod
6Conservative and Unionist Party182,476Nosheena Mobarik

City Chambers
EH1 1 YJ
Kenneth Lawrie
Regional Returning Officer
27 May 2019
Printed and published by the above-named Regional Returning Officer

Dumfries and Galloway Results

I, Gavin Stevenson, Local Returning Officer appointed for the Dumfries & Galloway counting area at the European Parliamentary Election in the Electoral Region of Scotland, held on 23 May 2019, hereby certify, and declare:

The results for the Dumfries and Galloway Local Counting Area are as follows:

Name of registered partyNumber of valid votes
Change UK -The Independent Group913
Conservative and Unionist Party9,651
Labour Party3,207
Liberal Democrats4,544
Scottish Green Party3,140
Scottish National Party (SNP)12,670
The Brexit Party9,981
UK Independence Party (UKIP) 1,228
Edgar, Gordon246
Parke, Ken62

Rejected Ballot Papers

a) want of an official mark0
b) voting for more than one registered party/individual candidate36
c) writing or mark by which voter could be identified3
d) unmarked or void for uncertainty162
The total number of rejected ballot papers was (a+b+c+d)201

Total Votes

Total Votes Cast45,843
Total Electorate112,970
Percentage Poll40.58%

Gavin Stevenson
Local Returning Officer:
26 May 2019


Page last updated: 02/09/2019
email icon print icon Bookmark and Share