Castle of St John, Stranraer
The Castle of St John sits in a prominent position in the centre of Stranraer. The fascinating story of the Castle and its many inhabitants can be found in the exhibitions on site.
The Castle of St John is closed until Easter 2018.
- Free entry
- Disabled access - wheelchair access on ground floor only
The Castle of St John is a medieval tower house, built around 1500 by the Adairs of Kilhilt, one of the most powerful families in Wigtownshire. Over the centuries the Castle has been used as a home, a local court, a military garrison and a prison.
Videos and reconstructions are used to tell the story of the medieval landowners who built and lived in the Castle, the Government troops who used the Castle as their headquarters during the "Killing Times" in the 1680s and the criminals and debtors imprisoned in the Castle during the 19th century.
- Email firstname.lastname@example.org
- Call 01776 705088