PROPOSALS

a) Amalgamation of Polling Districts where number of registered station voters is less than 150, voter turnout is regularly less than 150 and where amalgamation would be beneficial to ensure long term viability.

District	Station Voters @ 31/03/2023	Turnout (% based on station voters at each election			Proposed Polling Place after amalgamation
Amalgamate		UKPGE 2019	SPE 2021	LGE 2022	
02U1 Carsluith	129	84 (72%)	84 (75%)	52 (41%)	Mission Hall, Creetown
02T1 Creetown	510	336 (64%)	294 (54%)	195 (39%)	
02R1 Glentrool	75	62 (76%)	60 (70%)	45 (68%)	Newton Stewart
02Q1 Newton Stewart	1732	1125 (60%)	892 (44%)	552 (31%)	Customer Service Centre
03F1 Balmaclellan	168	140 (80%)	111 (61%)	70 (41%)	Catstrand, New Galloway
03B1 New Galloway	349	299 (79%)	232 (57%)	181 (52%)	catestrana, rien canona,
03N1 Dundrennan	127	95 (65%)	93 (64%)	64 (47%)	Murray Hall, Auchencairn
03M1 Auchencairn	278	233 (80%)	205 (69%)	137 (48%)	
04N1 Springholm	254	172 (62%)	152 (55%)	113 (43%)	Springholm Memorial
04F1 Kirkpatrick Durham	255	217 (81%)	209 (73%)	144 (54%)	Hall
07H3 Kirkconnel	416	281 (59%)	226 (49%)	150 (36%)	Hillview Leisure Centre
07G3 Kelloholm	850	446 (53%)	394 (41%)	245 (28%)	
07K3 Carronbridge	218	188 (77%)	150 (61%)	96 (44%)	Thornhill Community
07L3 Morton	982	741 (69%)	598 (53%)	391 (39%)	Centre
10D3 Kinmount	285	231 (70%)	177 (55%)	112 (38%)	McFarlan Hall
10B3 Ruthwell	326	284 (72%)	243 (65%)	159 (47%)	
10J3 Creca	171	154 (83%)	108 (54%)		Nelson House, Eastriggs
10H3 Eastriggs	1180	822 (63%)	643 (49%)	454 (38%)	
12C3 Rigg	167	127 (71%)	104 (52%)	80 (44%)	Richard Greenhow Centre
12B3 Gretna	1804	1162 (61%)	892 (45%)	551 (30%)	
12P3 Ewes	74	57 (69%)	48 (53%)	37 (51%)	The Buccleuch Centre
12N3 Langholm	1470	1053 (67%)	866 (54%)	638 (43%)	
12J3 Half Morton	107	80 (72%)	71 (60%)	35 (33%)	Stormont Hall,
12A3 Springfield	293	222 (71%)	171 (54%)	105 (35%)	

b) Polling Districts which currently share polling place/station proposed for amalgamation.

⁰¹L1 Stranraer North and 01N1 Stranraer Central – Ryan Centre

OFFICIAL

06B1 Summerhill and 06D1 Barnhill - Summerhill Community Centre

08C3 Auldgirth North and 08D3 Auldgirth - Auldgirth Village Hall

08F2 Ae, 08G3 Amisfield North and 08H3 Amisfield – Tinwald Parish Hall – this venue has been used for these Districts for the last 3 elections.

09A2 Greyfriars and 09B2 Loreburn – Oasis Centre

09C2 Cresswell and 09L3 Castledykes - Cresswell and Larchfield Community Centre

09D2 Millburn, 09F3 Noblehill West and 09H3 Noblehill - Noblehill Community Centre

09G2 Georgetown and 09K3 Georgetown Village – Georgetown Community Centre

11D3 Lockerbie, 11G3 Applegarth which share Polling Place and add 11P3 Tundergarth and 11B3 Kettleholm – Lockerbie Town Hall

12K3Evertown, 12L3 Canonbie which share Polling Place and add 12M3 Gilnockie - Canonbie Public Hall

c) Reorganisation of Boundary

Lochans, Portpatrick and Stranraer East

01F1 Lochans – addition of 56 electors from 01P1 Stranraer East – Ballyferry Burn being the new boundary. 01G1 Portpatrick – addition of 6 electors from 01F1 Lochans – from Little Pinminnoch Croft 01P1 Stranraer East – removal of 56 electors to 01F1 Lochans

Whithorn and Port William

02J1 Port William – to include the village of Monreith moving the eastern boundary to Cairndoon north to Ravenstone from 02B1 Whithorn. Monreith is more closely associated with Port William.

Dunragit, Glenluce and New Luce

02L1 Dunragit, 02K1 Glenluce and 02N1 New Luce – Dunragit has no permanent venue, portacabin used which requires to be transported to site for each election. The portacabin will not provide the required privacy area for UKPGE. The Old Luce Community Council area covers Glenluce and Dunragit. New Luce has 100 station voters, turnout UKPGE 2019 89 (71%), SPE 2021 66 (53%), LGE 2022 37 (34%)

Haugh of Urr and Crocketford

04C1 Haugh of Urr and 24 electors from the southern end of 04J1 Crocketford

Parton, Corsock and Crossmichael

04G1 Parton – eastern side from Glenhead Hill to Knockvennie to 04H1 Corsock 26 voters 04G1 Parton – remainder to 04D1 Crossmichael Remove 04G1 Parton.