|
Home Page > Education and learning > Schools > Our Schools > School term and holiday dates

School term and holiday dates

School term and holiday dates are set by the Council following consultation with teachers. Dates for up to 3 years in advance are published once agreed. The Council also aims to publicise any changes to the scheduled dates or unexpected closures as soon as possible.


Upcoming Term Dates


The term dates for the academic year 2014/2015 are as follows:

Term 1 - Wednesday 20 August 2014 to Friday 10 October 2014
Staff return - Monday 18 August 2014
Pupils return - Wednesday 20 August 2014
Schools close - Friday 10 October
Autumn Holiday - Monday 13 October 2014 to Friday 24 October 2014

Term 2 - Monday 27 October 2014 to Friday 19 December 2014
Schools re-open - Monday 27 October 2014
Staff training day - Thursday 27 November 2014
St Andrew's Day - Friday 28th November 2014
Schools close - Friday 19 December 2014
Christmas Holiday - Monday 22 December 2014 - Friday 2 January 2015

Term 3 - Monday 5 January 2015 to Thursday 2 April 2015
Schools re-open - Monday 5 January 2015
Mid-term Holiday - Monday 16 February 2015
Staff training days - Tuesday 17 February 2015 - Wednesday 18 February 2015
Schools close - Thursday 2 April 2015
Spring Holiday - Friday 3rd April 2015 - Friday 17 April 2015

Term 4 - Monday 20 April to Thursday 2 July 2015
Schools re-open - Monday 20 April 2015
May Day Holiday - Monday 4 May 2015
Staff training day - Friday 29 May 2015
Schools close - Thursday 2 July 2015
Summer Holiday - Friday 3 July 2015 - Wednesday 19 August 2015
Staff return - Tuesday 18 August 2015
Pupils return - Thursday 20 August 2015

You can also download copies of the upcoming or future term and holiday dates:


Unauthorised Absence


Family holidays during term times will be marked as an unauthorised absence. This will be done even if you have told the school you intend to take your child on holiday. No school work will be given, although some schools may consider giving you information about what will be covered during the absence.

In exceptional circumstances, extended visits overseas to relatives or the extended absence of children of travelling people may be marked as an authorised absence. If you wish to discuss the matter further, please contact the school.


Emergency School Closures


Adverse weather conditions and other unexpected circumstances may sometimes lead to schools in Dumfries and Galloway being closed.

Related Information

Contact Details

 

Schools Support

Woodbank
30 Edinburgh Road
Dumfries
DG1 1NW

Tel: 01387 260444 / 260466
Fax: 01387 260453

Related Documents

External Links

Contact Dumfries and Galloway Council T: 030 33 33 3000

Council Offices
English Street
Dumfries
DG1 2DD

Comments, Compliments and Complaints