Political Groupings

Notification of Political Groups

Dumfries and Galloway Council has a minority political Administration formed by The Scottish Labour Group.


5 members

Mrs Jane S Maitland (Group Leader)
Mr Richard Brodie
Mr Jim McColm
Mr Craig Peacock
Mr George N Prentice (Business Manager/Secretary) 

Non Aligned

2 members

Mr Willie Scobie
Mr Grahame Forster

Dumfries and Galloway Conservative and Unionist Council Group

8 members

Mr Ivor A Hyslop (Group Leader)
Mr Ian Blake
Mr Finlay Carson
Mrs Gillian Dykes
Mrs Patsy Gilroy
Mrs Gail Macgregor (Secretary)
Mr Denis R Male
Mr Graham Nicol (Depute Group Leader)

The Dumfries and Galloway Council Conservative and Unionists' Group

6 members

Mr Ian Carruthers (Group Leader)
Mr Graham Bell
Mrs Karen Carruthers (Secretary)
Mr Peter Diggle
Mr Jack Groom
Mrs Roberta Tuckfield (Business Manager)

The Scottish Labour Group

15 members

Mr Ronnie Nicholson (Group Leader) 
Mr Jim Dempster
Mr Archie Dryburgh
Dr. Jeff Leaver (Group Secretary)
Mr Sean W Marshall
Mr John Martin
Mr Tom McAughtrie
Ms Marion McCutcheon 
Mr David J McKie 
Mr Ronnie Ogilvie
Mr Colin Smyth (Business Manager)
Mr David Stitt
Mr John Syme
Mr Graeme Tait
Mr Ted Thompson

Scottish National Party

10 members

Mr Brian Collins (Group Leader)
Mr Rob Davidson (Business Manager)
Mr Iain Dick
Mr Andy Ferguson
Mr Alistair Geddes
Ms Yen Hongmei Jin
Mr Jim McClung
Mr Stephen Thompson (Secretary)
Mr Alastair Witts
Mr Andrew Wood

NOTE: Colin Wyper is an Elected Member of Dumfries and Galloway Council but is not affiliated with any political grouping.

Related Information

Contact Details


Legal and Regulatory

Council Offices
English Street

Tel: 01387 260035 or 01387 260039
Fax: 01387 260034

Contact Dumfries and Galloway Council T: 030 33 33 3000

Council Offices
English Street

Comments, Compliments and Complaints